“A Century of Hats” is the new exhibit at the Museum through the end of October. Hats have played a significant role in our history and hats from 1840 to 1970 will be displayed, showing a fascinating period from the beginning of the Victorian Era to the Swinging Sixties. These are all from the Museum’s extensive clothing collection.
The Museum’s newest acquisitions will also be on display. These include an 1840 wooden clock, an original Harper’s New Monthly Magazine, September, 1870 (with an article on travelling on Puget Sound, labeled “the Mediterranean of the North”), and twelve prints from a calendar of 1893 by well-known illustrator Maud Humphrey, mother of Humphrey Bogart. All of these items were donated by Edwin Weaver. In addition, there is a small wooden spool holder owned by Lydia Bonney, the first school teacher in Steilacoom (1854), and three clay marbles treasured by her son. Additional information on the Bonney family is given by descendants Marlene Bonney White and Marsha Bonney Falron.
A very interesting medical device is “The Master Violet Ray” machine, used in electrotherapy, and given by Dr. Stan Flemming.
Also, an oak workbench which was used in the old Steilacoom School around the turn of the 20th century was donated by Jim Grondahl.
The Museum is open Saturdays and Sundays from1 to 5 and is located at 1801 Rainier Street in Steilacoom.