TNT: Police force staffing tied to University Place vote on utility taxes

“University Place voters will decide next month whether to pay more taxes to keep the city’s police force from cutting staff.

“If voters approve the increase Nov. 4, utility taxes in the city will go from the current rate of 6 percent to 9.5 percent. That will allow the department to maintain staffing levels and eventually grow by three deputies and one patrol sergeant, officials say.”

Read the rest of Brynn Grimley’s story in The News Tribune.

Read more here:

Letter: For those seeking public office

I do this every two years or so because I believe it is important – plus, the campaign signs littering the landscape inevitably reminds me. I also have a lot of fun gleaning email addresses from my voter’s guide to seek out and send these thoughts to the candidates that will represent the young people in Lakewood.

I want to remind you that even though they can’t vote, nor can they contribute financially to your campaign, young people do matter.

[Read more...]

TNT: Steve O’Ban says opponent Tami Green was ‘angling’ for PAC money

“State Rep. Tami Green, D-Lakewood, hasn’t kept pace with her opponent, Republican state Sen. Steve O’Ban, when it comes to fundraising and campaign spending.

“That may change soon, though, since this week Green gained the support of a environmental political action committee backed by California billionaire Tom Steyer.” Read the rest of Melissa Santos’ story at The News Tribune.

WEA endorses Dr. Stan Flemming

Pierce County Councilman Dr. Stan Flemming is pleased to announce that in addition to the recent endorsements he has received from the Local Firefighter’s 3152, Tacoma Police Union #6, Pierce County Deputy Sheriff’s Guild, and the Pierce County Corrections Deputy’s Guild, he has been notified that he has received the endorsement of the Washington Education Association – Tacoma Council.

[Read more...]